Featured Student Artist: Jang Lee

Standard

2014-09-01 01.38.54Jang Lee is a senior currently attending Flower Mound High School in Texas. His piece, Concerto in Wonderland was selected as a Top Ten Winner in our Summer 2014 national art contest.

Jang is involved in the AP art program at his school and attends Dream Art Academy every Saturday. As president of his school’s National Art Honor Society and Art Club, art is a huge part of his life. He explains, “It’s given me an opportunity to express my creativity and pursue my passion. I believe it’s very important to nurture an inherent creative capacity that all people are born with. This idea was one of the inspirations for my piece.”

Jang goes on to explain the inspiration for his winning art. “Alice in Wonderland is my favorite childhood story because of its fantasy elements. However, I always felt like as I grew up, I slowly became estranged from the story. It became dull and unrealistically ridiculous. Concerto in Wonderland is inspired by the idea that as people mature, their innate creativity and capacity for imagination diminishes. I gave the piece a more twisted, dark interpretation to juxtapose it with the humorous story of Alice in Wonderland, showing how unfamiliar it has become to me. In terms of composition, I placed the large, twisted tree in the right of the piece to balance the rabbit. I also painted a river cutting through so the diagonal line would give it movement. The piece is purposefully over-saturated to satire the vivid mind we no longer have.”

In the future, Jang would like to attend the School of the Art Institute of Chicago as an illustration major.

To learn more about our national student art contests, visit www.celebratingart.com.

art-num-199293889as.

One response »

Leave a Reply

