Featured Student Artist: Portia C.

Standard

PortiaCelebrateArtPortia was studying art at Martin Fine Art Classes in California when she was selected as a Top Ten Winner in our Summer 2013 national art contest.  At the time, Portia was in second grade.  Her winning art is titled “Panda on the Go.”

art-num-813730681as“My inspiration for choosing a panda was from an older girl in my Martin Fine Art class in Encinitas.” Portia explains, “I like pandas because they are so cute and furry but I also know they are very special because they need our help to avoid extinction.”

Portia really enjoys her art class and hopes in the future she can learn new techniques and mediums. Her goal is to become a famous artist one day. Portia’s favorite artist is Vincent Van Gogh because his work inspires her. She also likes math and studying classical ballet, Spanish, Mandarin, and playing the violin. In her spare time, she enjoys tennis, swimming, and playing with her younger brother.

“I’m happy my art was chosen by Celebrating Art to publish in their book and that my ‘Panda On The Go’ also won first place for my age group at the San Diego County Fair. My most recent painting is of my violin. It took a long time to paint but I am really proud of the result.”

To learn more about our national art contest, visit www.CelebratingArt.com.

Leave a Reply

