Don’t play it safe! Creativity takes courage

Standard

Ten years ago, I went to California to spend the weekend with my 98 year old grandmother. She was a sculptress that has work in several museums around the country and worked with Gutzon Borglum (who did Mt Rushmore) . We we wanted to go to her studio and make castings of some of her best work. What I did any other weekend that year I can’t tell you. But that weekend became an event that I will remember the rest of my life. She lived to 103 and is now gone.

Each day we have the opportunity to do things that are memorable. The last sitcom I watched on TV was Seinfeld in the 1980’s. Yes, I am culturally illiterate about the latest celebrity. But instead of that time watching TV, I have done a hundred projects with my kids and hopefully made the world a better place.

With our art and writing contests, there are a million kids who will NOT enter the spring contest. There will be several thousand that will enter. These students took a risk and will send in a bit of themselves through their art, poetry or essay. Henri Matisse said, “Creativity takes courage.” The students who do NOT enter will have no benefit from playing it safe. The students who Do have the courage to enter may not move on in the competition or be accepted to enter, but they won’t know unless they try. However, the students that are accepted to be published or are a top ten winner, will have taken a risk that will give them a reward they will remember the rest of their life.

This weekend, do something that you will make it a memorable weekend. That is my challenge. Make it a weekend, like I did ten years ago, that I now look back and remember. Those are the days that we cherish and the opportunities that are rewarded.

Leave a Reply

